Adonis Diaries

Dozing over her schoolbook

Posted on: June 5, 2016

Dozing over her schoolbook

You are snoozing on my arm darling

A kid dozing over her schoolbook.

My arm is no longer mine darling

It is an extension of your flesh, nerves, and warm heart;

It is part of your sorrows, wet eyelids, and soft breath.

Do you remember how often you threw snowballs at me

Then come rushing to cuddle in my arms for warmth?

You are no longer an extension of my arm darling

Your love is deeply sculpted by knife in my nerves.

You came close and asked for my autograph;

You almost begged for a single line of poetry.

“A poem I could hide in my black long hair”, you said;

“And let it rest like a baby, over my soft pillow”.

I know, my lovely warm and shiny springtime,

I know that the poems of my youth

Painted beauty in every beautiful girl

And it did blossom inanimate bosoms.

I know, the poems of my youth set afire stars,

Ruined kingdoms and marriages.

It is my hot heart that was behind my hands, ink, and papers.

This heart has retreated behind cigarette smokes.

Tis no time to be fooled my shiny springtime.

What you see is an empty temple

In front of you stands a cold, icy crumbling column.

The poems that set your heart on fire are yours.

Melt them in your heart

Get wild, go wild and set fires

Burn, burn this drying world.

A new fresh dawn must arise with every generation.

Note: Two abridged poems combined in one from the late Syrian poet Nizar Kabbani

Leave a Reply

adonis49

adonis49

adonis49

Blog Stats

  • 1,037,385 hits

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.adonisbouh@gmail.com

Join 513 other followers

