Adonis Diaries

“I have the taste of humanity and kindness…” Thomas Mann

Posted on: March 31, 2017

From “Royal Altess” by Thomas Mann
“You think? Your are wrong. I’am not an aristocrat, I’m all the opposite, by reason and by taste.

Proof is for mathematical theorems and alcoholic beverages. It’s not for science.”

You’ll agree with me that if I decline the vivas of the people, it’s not out of pride: I have the taste of humanity and kindness.

The greatness of mankind is a miserable thing and often, it seems to me that men should know it , and conduct themselves humanly and with kindness and not to seek to be humiliated or to cow tow to one another.

Littérature et Poésie‘s photo.
In order to suffer being the object of simagrees that surround this greatness, we have to thicken our skin. I’m a little fragile by nature.
I don’t feel able to confront the ridicule of my situation. The person posted on my door and who expect to see me pass without extending him any attention or respect commensurate to the chamberlain at the door, embarrasses me. It is my way of loving the people…”
From another Mann, and from post over at Peter Guest’s blog, the scientist Michael “Hockey Stick” Mann is quoted saying:

Proof is for mathematical theorems and alcoholic beverages. It’s not for science.”

Michael Mann goes on to explain that science is all about “credible theories” and “best explanations” and his critics are not offering up any of those.

Mann’s attempt to separate proof from science stems from increasing public awareness that the warming predicted by the high-sensitivity models that Mann and others have championed just have not occurred over the last 15 years.

Leave a Reply

adonis49

adonis49

adonis49

Blog Stats

  • 1,037,906 hits

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.adonisbouh@gmail.com

Join 513 other followers

