Adonis Diaries

“I heard the owl call my name” by Margaret Craven

Posted on: October 22, 2008

Written in May 3, 2007

“I heard the owl call my name” by Margaret Craven

The 27-year old Mark Brian was sent by the Bishop to be the vicar at a Native American village of Kingcome in the remote Northwest region of Canada, close to the Arctic Circle.  The physician has confided to the Bishop that Mark has barely three years to live and less than two years for active life.

Jim, the boat driver and a native of Kingcome, stops the speed boat and they contemplate hundreds of salmon swimming stealthily on their final journey before they die. Mark recites the Kwakiutl prayer on salmon: “Come swimmer, I am glad to be alive now that you have come to this good place where we can play together.  Take this sweet food. Hold it tight, younger brother (hook)”.

The female salmon swimmer digs the seed bed with her torn tail, her sides deep red and blue, her fins battered and worn.  The waiting male covers the eggs with milt and the female will linger, guarding them for several days before the current carries her dead body, tail first, as it had swam the current when it was hatched several years ago.

The white man who promised marriage to Keeta’s sister showed up at Kingcome and, after getting the men drunk, he purchased the traditional ceremonial mask for $50 from Keeta’s uncle and left swiftly with his girl.

The antique dealers had offered $3,500 for the mask and the family had refused a few years ago.  The next day, the old members of the family packed in a canoe and left to a remote village in shame for the selling of the traditional mask.

When Mark wrote the Bishop about this event the reply was: “An Eskimo was ordained priest. A white man told him that now Tagoona, the Eskimo priest, can help them with the Eskimo problems. Tagoona asked: “What is a problem?”  The white man replied: “If I dangled you by the heels from a third-story window, you would have a problem” Tagoona said: “If you drop me it is you who would have the problem, as for me nothing would matter.”

Keeta’s sister was left in Vancouver; she had never seen a paved street, or a train, or a telephone.  She frequented the beer parlors and barely survived three months before she died of overdose.  Now Mark discovered the cause of the deep sadness in the Eskimos’ eyes.

The Canadian government forbade the great dance-potlatches where families gave all they had based on a chief’s desire to shame his rival, even if it meant his tribe and his children went hungry.  In these magnificent potlatches each dance recounted a story of a myth and lasted for three hours and food was abundant, then the host would distribute refrigerators and washing machines.  The guests were billeted in the houses of Kingcome, twenty or thirty to each house, to be fed and cared for.

The boats came up the inlet, and the canoes brought the guests up the river. Each night, one of the relatives gave a great feast of seal, duck or salmon, and a tremendous quantity of gifts purchased from Alert Bay city.  These potlatches were like the coronations of a king but now the meaning is gone and the gifts turned miserably cheap.

In late March, the tribe prepares for the coming of the oolachon or the candlefish; the male is dried on V-frames and the oil of the female fish, richer in fat, oil is extracted and rendered into gleena for dipping food into and is heated in huge wooden vats over small slow fire; it is the month where the atmosphere is reeking with fish smell.

In May, all the men ready the boats, freshly painted, and leave to gig for halibut (the old woman).

June and July are salmon (the swimmer) fishing months using gill-netting in River’s Inlet. Cedar bark is removed to prepare blankets for newly born.

Autumn is hunting season for deer and bear.

Winter is reserved for hunting small animals like rabbits and wolves.

Around May, the chief of the tribe announced to Mark that they are ready to erect a new vicarage because he shared their sadness and sorrows for a year.  When someone dies, the tribe has to notify the RCMP to investigate and give permission for the body to be buried.

When young Gordon’s mother died Mark arranged for him and his four younger sisters and brothers to get an education in Vancouver.  Keeta joined Gordon but he managed to fit well with the white men environment; Keeta returned to the village to stay.  She would not go see Mark because she thought that he would not approve of what she did; she made sure to get pregnant by Gordon so that he may have someone to continue his presence in the village.

On Christmas time, Mark and Jim would set out early each day to take gifts to the hand-loggers and their families, to the remote camps, and to the other villages.  The old priest Caleb visited with Mark and said: “The young will follow Gordon.  Very soon only the old will be left.  The tribe is going to trade its simplicity for the shiny gadgetry of our complex world and the outside world will not accept it easily.”  Mark replied: “The wrong people in the complex world will use the natives for the wrong reasons, for publicity, politics and greed.  These natives will still have men like you to stand by them; in life you have been to this tribe what the Cedar-man was to them in the myth.”

Old Martha realizes from the pallor in Mark’s face that his days are numbered and sent a letter to the Bishop to visit quickly.  The Bishop arrives and lingered for three days before getting the courage to tell Mark: “I will begin at once to seek a replacement for you.  Your work in the village is almost done. When you come out, you will come to me.”  Mark answered: “Yes, my lord.”

Martha has spread the word and Keeta met Mark and told him: “Stay with us.  We have written the Bishop and he agreed for you to remain because this is your village and we are your family.  You are the swimmer who came to us from the great sea.”

During an emergency outing Mark said to Jim who is to wed Keeta: “When I am no longer in the village, take care of Keeta.  When you want coffee don’t bang on the table but say “please’. When you build Keeta  a house, let her plan it with you.  Take her and the children with you sometimes on the fishing, and each year take her outside until it is familiar to her.  Someday, when the village is no more, you too must cross the bridge.”

When Mark died in an accident many from the neighboring villages and outposts came to the funeral. The young matrons asked Mrs. Hudson: “What meat shall we prepare for the guests?”  “Roast beef”, and “What vegetable?” “Carrots, he never liked mashed turnips and I made him eat them.”

Peter, the old mask carver would not sleep during this night and he dressed and sat on the top step of his house waiting because it would be most inhospitable if Mark’s soul returned and no one was awake.

46 Responses to "“I heard the owl call my name” by Margaret Craven"

WOW just what I was searching for. Came here by searching for test

I’m really loving the theme/design of your web site. Do you ever run into any internet browser compatibility problems? A small number of my blog audience have complained about my website not working correctly in Explorer but looks great in Chrome. Do you have any advice to help fix this issue?

It’s not my first time to pay a visit this web page, i am visiting this web page dailly and take good data from here daily.

It’s going to be ending of mine day, however before finish I am reading this great piece of writing to increase my experience.

Hi great blog! Does running a blog similar to this require a great deal of work?
I’ve virtually no understanding of computer programming but I had been hoping to start my own blog soon. Anyway, should you have any ideas or techniques for new blog owners please share. I understand this is off topic nevertheless I just needed to ask. Thanks a lot!

just open a blog on wordpress.com and start writing and posting.

Hi there it’s me, I am also visiting this website on a regular basis, this web site is truly pleasant and the visitors are really sharing fastidious thoughts.

I constantly spent my half an hour to read this webpage’s content daily along with a mug of coffee.

Fantastic beat ! I wish to apprentice while you amend your web site, how could i
subscribe for a blog site? The account helped me a
appropriate deal. I had been tiny bit acquainted of this
your broadcast offered vibrant transparent concept

I hardly drop remarks, however i did a few searching and wound up
here “I heard the owl call my name” by Margaret Craven | Adonis Diaries.
And I actually do have a couple of questions for you if you don’t mind. Is it simply me or does it appear like a few of the comments appear like they are written by brain dead people? 😛 And, if you are writing at other online social sites, I would like to follow everything new you have to post. Would you make a list of the complete urls of your shared pages like your Facebook page, twitter feed, or linkedin profile?

I tend not to comment on non developed replies, but I have to click on “approve” for non harmful replies that say that they enjoyed the read. I occasionally insert a link on Facebook, though it is not worth it: No one ever replied on my links on facebook…

Very nice write-up. I definitely love this site. Stick with it!

I’m not sure where you’re getting your info, but good topic.
I needs to spend some time learning much more or understanding
more. Thanks for excellent info I was looking for this information for my mission.

Great website. A lot of useful information here. I am sending it
to some pals ans additionally sharing in delicious.

And certainly, thanks to your sweat!

Thanks , I’ve recently been searching for info about this subject for a long time and yours is the greatest I’ve found out
till now. But, what about the conclusion? Are you positive
in regards to the source?

just reviewing a story. Everyone with his own conclusion, positive or not…

Thanks for finally talking about >“I heard the owl call my name” by Margaret
Craven | Adonis Diaries <Loved it!

I loved as much as you’ll receive carried out right here. The sketch is tasteful, your authored subject matter stylish. nonetheless, you command get bought an edginess over that you wish be delivering the following. unwell unquestionably come further formerly again since exactly the same nearly a lot often inside case you shield this hike.

Hi there, just wanted to mention, I loved this blog post.
It was helpful. Keep on posting!

Oh my goodness! Impressive article dude! Thanks, However I
am experiencing issues with your RSS. I don’t understand why I cannot subscribe to it. Is there anybody getting identical RSS issues? Anybody who knows the solution will you kindly respond? Thanks!!

I have many subscribers. Contact Support.

Thank you for some other great post. Where else could anybody
get that type of information in such a perfect means of writing?
I have a presentation subsequent week, and I am on the look for such information.

I don’t even know how I ended up here, but I thought this post was great. I do not know who you are but definitely you’re going
to a famous blogger if you aren’t already 😉 Cheers!

check my about for details

Heya i’m for the primary time here. I found this board and I in finding It really useful & it helped me out a lot. I am hoping to give one thing back and help others such as you helped me.

Thanks for any other wonderful article. The place else may anybody get that type of info in such a perfect approach of writing?
I’ve a presentation subsequent week, and I am on the search for such information.

Highly energetic article, I liked that bit. Will there be a part 2?

this is all the story. Wished there is a follow up book

Hey just wanted to give you a quick heads up. The words in your
post seem to be running off the screen in Safari. I’m not sure if this is a formatting issue or something to do with browser compatibility but I thought I’d post to let you know.
The layout look great though! Hope you get the issue solved soon.
Thanks

Why viewers still use to read news papers when in this technological globe everything
is existing on web?

This excellent website definitely has all the info I wanted concerning this subject and didn’t know who to ask.

Hi, i read your blog occasionally and i own a similar one and i was just wondering if you get
a lot of spam feedback? If so how do you stop it, any plugin or anything you can suggest?
I get so much lately it’s driving me mad so any assistance is very much appreciated.

A little on wordpress , and a lot on gmail… Contact support…

I just couldn’t depart your site prior to suggesting that I actually loved the usual info an individual provide in your guests? Is going to be back regularly in order to inspect new posts

Hi to every one, the contents present at this website
are in fact remarkable for people experience,
well, keep up the nice work fellows.

Thanks for your marvelous posting! I truly enjoyed reading it,
you happen to be a great author.I will be sure to bookmark your blog
and may come back down the road. I want to encourage you to continue your
great writing, have a nice afternoon!

Hmm is anyone else experiencing problems with the images on this blog loading?
I’m trying to determine if its a problem on my end or if it’s
the blog. Any responses would be greatly appreciated.

Whatever images you see are not from my own… What support has to say?

We stumbled over here coming from a different web address and thought I might as well check things out.

I like what I see so i am just following you. Look forward to finding out about your web
page for a second time.

What’s Taking place i’m new to this, I stumbled upon
this I have discovered It positively useful and it has helped me out loads.
I am hoping to give a contribution & help other users like
its helped me. Good job.

Helpful information. Fortunate me I found
your site by chance, and I am stunned why this twist of fate
didn’t took place earlier! I bookmarked it.

Fine way of describing, and pleasant article to get facts regarding my presentation focus, which i am going
to present in school.

Just desire to say your article is as amazing.
The clearness for your publish is just nice and that i
can assume you are a professional on this subject. Well together with your permission allow me to seize your feed to
keep updated with coming near near post. Thank you 1,000,000 and please carry on the rewarding work.

That is a really good tip especially to those new to the blogosphere.

Brief but very accurate information… Thanks
for sharing this one. A must read post!

I’m amazed, I must say. Rarely do I encounter a blog
that’s both educative and entertaining, and without a doubt, you’ve hit the nail on the
head. The issue is something which too few men and women are speaking intelligently about.

I’m very happy I came across this in my hunt for something concerning this.

Leave a comment

adonis49

adonis49

adonis49

October 2008
M T W T F S S
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Blog Stats

  • 1,554,386 hits

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.adonisbouh@gmail.com

Join 773 other subscribers